Stay At Home Mom

{EC7F2616-C8C4-45CE-9783-D14CF7C2C4B9}-049

I’ve been a stay at home mom for four years now. All my life I heard that parenting is the hardest job a person could have, and I would smile and say something like, “I bet it is.” Really though, I had no idea.

The work day for a stay at home mom is never ending. There are no days off, no vacation time, no weekend snooze fests, no late night clubbing, and no personal days. You are always on the clock and need to be ready to go at a moments notice. I sleep with one eye open so I don’t miss that sleepy, “Mama, I had a bad dream,” in the middle of the night.

What is the job description for a stay at home mom? Well, let us look at all of the sub-job titles that go with the main one shall we. Chef, maid, secretary, baby sitter, pet caregiver, chauffeur, buffer, monster police, cuddle buddy, nurse, and teacher. Also, there has been a lot of poop and other bodily fluids that I have had to clean off of him, me, and many other surfaces. That probably doesn’t cover everything, but you get the point.

And now you know, being a stay at home mom is a hard job and is not a decision that should be made lightly. I wish that there was a way moms and dads to be could test drive to see what works for them before they have kids so they can see what works for them before the real life happens, but there isn’t. I don’t even know what it is like to be a working mom yet, I will find out in another two years after I graduate college. Going to school full time and being a stay at home mom is hard enough. Next time you see your mom, give her a big hug and thank her for you being alive, her and your dad were the ones who made sure you didn’t starve, jump off the roof and break your neck, kept your boo-boos clean, and blew your nose.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

