AHCA

IMG_1559-0.JPGThanks to the Affordable Health Care Act millions of American citizens now have insurance that didn’t last year at this time. There is actually a record low amount of uninsured citizens. In the time leading to the day when this act would come into effect people were scared of it and tended to say numerous negative things about it. Now that the AHCA is active and working the naysayers seem to have dwindled.

There are downsides and upsides about the AHCA and I personally think that the upsides far out weight the downsides, especially for me. Before January 1, 2014 I had no insurance. My husband’s job pays for his, and my son has state provided insurance. As for me, I haven’t had insurance since my son was born because nobody gives benefits to stay at home moms. I know there are people who abuse the system, but there will always be people that take advantage and ruin a good thing.

For those American’s who do not like Obama Care and think it needs to go away, I think you should look at it from all different perspectives. Without insurance I wouldn’t be able to afford to go to the doctor no matter how bad I need to unless it is an absolute emergency. Even after I manage to pay to go, I then would not be able to pay for the medication prescribed. Not all meds are $4. I had to get a Z-Pack in December of last year and it cost me $20. That may not be much to some people, but it is a lot to my family. Pre AHCA I would not know if I had a serious life threatening disease because I wouldn’t be able to pay to have any tests run. Have a lump? Well, that’s nice. Couldn’t it be cancerous? I don’t know, do you have a couple hundred dollars for a blood work and an ultra sound? You don’t? That’s too bad.

Another thing I heard about on NPR a few days ago is that hospitals in areas when there is more than one have to compete for patients. Oh no? You mean the thousands of dollars people spend on hospital stays are actually going to help the patients and not to make the hospital prettier? Well, that is just insane.

So ask yourself, do you not like AHCA because you just don’t like the effects of it or do you not like it because it is call Obama Care and anything with Obama’s name is automatically bad?

 

 

Leave a Reply

